WoW Proving Grounds Scenario Guides

The Proving Grounds are a special type of single-player scenario that allows players to both learn and demonstrate the core skills associated with a givenrole or class. These might take the form of testing how long a tank can protect an NPC healer from a stream of oncoming enemies, or how much damage a roguecan deal to targets while avoiding awareness and movement checks of increasing difficulty. The system is intended to be a fun way for players to practice some of the skills that are essential for group gameplay, and for expert players to demonstrate mastery and compete for positions atop leaderboards, similar to the Challenge Mode feature.

There are three types of challenge, Damage, Tank and Healer, with each providing appropriate challenges. Each challenge can be tackled in Bronze, Silver, Gold or Endless mode, with each difficulty unlocked by defeating the previous one. Higher difficulties provide a stiffer challenge not only in terms of numbers but also in complexity, with more complicated sequences and combinations of enemies. Endless mode provides the player with a literally endless challenge, testing players to see how long they can withstand the onslaught.

The Proving Grounds become available at level 15, but only players at level 100 will be allowed to progress beyond Bronze difficulty.

Scenario: Proving Grounds: Select a Trial

  • Final Stage – Select a Trial
    Speak to Rotun to begin a trial.

Getting there

Players may enter the proving grounds by speaking with either Trial Master Rotun inside the Temple of the White Tiger in Kun-Lai Summit, or with any class trainer.

Inside the scenario

Inside the instance, players are permanently buffed with all eight raid buffs, and their gear level is scaled down to item level 463, much like in Challenge Mode. All set bonuses are disabled. While flasks and buff food do work, potions are disabled.

Trial Master Rotun will start a trial, but before starting out, feel free to repair, change talents/glyphs, and eat or drink using materials provided by Furnisher Echoroot,   [Reforge] gear by speaking with Mystic Quillstar, and loot a  [Healthstone] from Nadaga Soulweaver's Soulwell.



  1.  [Proving Yourself: Bronze Damage]
  2.  [Proving Yourself: Silver Damage]
  3.  [Proving Yourself: Gold Damage]
  4.  [Proving Yourself: Endless Damage (Wave 10)]
  5.  [Proving Yourself: Endless Damage (Wave 20)]
  6.  [Proving Yourself: Endless Damage (Wave 30)]


  1.  [Proving Yourself: Bronze Tank]
  2.  [Proving Yourself: Silver Tank]
  3.  [Proving Yourself: Gold Tank]
  4.  [Proving Yourself: Endless Tank (Wave 10)]
  5.  [Proving Yourself: Endless Tank (Wave 20)]
  6.  [Proving Yourself: Endless Tank (Wave 30)]


  1.  [Proving Yourself: Bronze Healer]
  2.  [Proving Yourself: Silver Healer]
  3.  [Proving Yourself: Gold Healer]
  4.  [Proving Yourself: Endless Healer (Wave 10)]
  5.  [Proving Yourself: Endless Healer (Wave 20)]
  6.  [Proving Yourself: Endless Healer (Wave 30)]


  •  [You're Doing it Wrong]